Pin It

Nintendo's Crown Jewel 

Nintendo’s Mario video game series debuted in 1981 with Donkey Kong, followed by Mario Brothers in 1983, Super Mario Brothers in 1985, The Lost Levels in 1986, Super Mario Brothers 2 in 1988, Super Mario Land in 1989, Super Mario Brothers 3 in 1990, Super Mario World in 1991, Super Mario Land 2 in 1992, Yoshi’s Island in 1995, Super Mario 64 in 1996, Super Mario Sunshine in 2002, New Super Mario Brothers in 2006, Super Mario Galaxy in 2007, New Super Mario Brothers for the Wii in 2009, and Super Mario Galaxy 2 in 2010, with a number of games outside the main series besides.

Mario was named after the landlord of Nintendo of America’s warehouse, Mario Segale. Mario Brothers introduced Mario’s brother, Luigi, the lanky fellow in the green cap, for all you non-gamers. Other primary antagonists include Princess Peach, Princess Daisy, Yoshi, and Toad. The primary antagonist is Bowser, who repeatedly captures the Princess, forcing Mario and Luigi to rescue her. Bowser is also referred to as King Koopa, leader of the Koopa race.

Bowser’s fellow antagonists include the Koopa Kids, named Roy, Larry, Iggy, Ludwig, Lemmy, Wendy O., and Morton, styled after punk rockers and named after musicians. Nintendo introduced an eighth child, Bowser Jr., in Super Mario Sunshine. Wario is another popular villain, first appearing in the Game Boy’s Super Mario Land 2: Six Golden Coins.

Pin It


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Search, Find, Enjoy

Submit an event

Trending Now