Wednesday, May 24, 2017     Volume: 31, Issue: 43

Weekly Poll
Does the Las Pilitas Quarry project deserve the second chance?

No. The Board of Supervisors and Planning Commission already shot it down the first time.
Yes, but only if the county approves the smaller, alternative proposal for the quarry.
The county should approve the quarry project at its full size.
I don't care either way.

Vote! | Poll Results

RSS Feeds

Latest News RSS
Current Issue RSS

Special Features
Search or post SLO County food and wine establishments


New Times / New Times Music Awards


The New Times Music Awards return!

Songwriters, musicians, performers, and bands, it’s once again your time to shine. The ninth annual New Times Music Awards will begin accepting entries on Thursday, July 27–Monday, August 21 at 5pm in five musical genre categories (including an “open” division), a songwriting category, and an album of the year competition. The genre winners must be available to perform during the Friday, November 11, 2016 live judging competition at the Fremont Theatre. Here’s the scoop.

Starting this year, you can enter up to ten original songs in each of the following genre categories: Country/Americana/Folk, R&B/Blues, Rock/Alternative, Hip-Hop/Reggae/World, and Open.

You may also enter up to three original songs in the songwriting competition (lyrics must be included). And you may enter one album released between July 7, 2016 to August 22, 2017, for the album of the year category. Each song or album entry costs $10. Entry deadline is Monday, August 22, no later than 5 p.m. You’ve got one month, people! Enter online by following the link.

A Readers Choice Award will be voted on September 29 through October 13.

Winners in the five genre categories will play a live-judged show at the Fremont Theatre on Friday, November 11, with one act crowned for Best Live Performance. Winners of the songwriting and best album categories, as well as runners-up in the genre categories and Readers Choice, will receive their awards that same evening. Tickets will be available at a future TBA date at the New Times (1010 Marsh Street, SLO), Sun (2540 Skyway Dr. Ste. A, Santa Maria), Boo Boo Records (978 Monterey St. SLO) or at

Find out if you’ve got what it takes to bring home a bronze Newtie!