New Times / Breaking News Story
Cal Poly Greeks taken off probation after agreeing to new party policy
BY RHYS HEYDEN
After protracted negotiations, Cal Poly officials and the university's Greek community finalized their long-awaited draft party registration policy on Feb. 12. The agreement ended a month-long social probation for Poly fraternities and sororities while also enacting more restrictive policies governing alcohol consumption and the makeup of Greek parties.
Headlining the five-page policy are all the now-banned sources of alcohol: kegs, cases, hard alcohol, and handles are all strictly prohibited under the new policy. The policy, which took effect immediately, applies to any and all events affiliated with a Greek organization. Only those of legal California drinking age may bring and consume alcohol, and each guest can only bring a maximum of 72 ounces of beer or 750 milliliters of wine.
In addition, all Greek parties are now closed events with a set guest list (which must be finalized at least 24 hours before the party), shots and drinking games are banned, parties can last no longer than five hours and must end by 1:00 a.m., parties are forbidden on school nights or finals week, and guests under age 18 will not be allowed.
"We believe this is an important new tool in helping our students maintain their own health and well-being and develop good neighbor and community relations," said Keith Humphrey, Cal Poly's vice president for student affairs, in a statement. Humphrey also said that the policy was written by Greek students who approved every element of the agreement.
The agreement finalized on Feb. 12 is a draft policy that will be reviewed starting in March 2014, at which point university officials or Greek organizations can suggest potential revisions and tweaks. The parties must reach a final agreement before the start of the Fall 2014 Quarter on Sept. 22.
Cal Poly's fraternities and sororities had been on social probation, under which they were forbidden from hosting any parties at all, since Jan. 10. That probation officially came to an end with the Feb. 12 agreement.
Hosts must now register parties of over 100 attendees at least 10 days in advance, and smaller parties of less than 100 must be registered at least five days in advance. Penalties for violations of the new policy range from warnings to sit-down meetings with administrators to social suspensions and other sanctions, depending on the severity and frequency of the infraction.
The university has posted the entire policy on their website for public perusal.
To rail, or to rail against?: As decision time approaches, the Sun examines the pros and cons of a controversial Phillips 66 oil-by-rail project Southern Santa Barbara County water agencies get state drought funding Political Watch 1/29/15 Community Notebook 1/29/15-2/5/15 The Santa Maria Police Department forms task force to combat auto theft problem Santa Maria High School teacher arrested in child porn possession case California tightens regulations on a popular strawberry fumigant